Facebook Thoughts

1) Collective agreements, a personal experience:

A few years ago, I worked as a desk jockey for a graduate department in Bar-Ilan for minimum wage. After a few months, I had done a good enough job that two of my superiors agreed that I should be paid more per hour. However, when I went to the person in charge of budgets, he told me it wasn’t possible.

Why?

Because a collective agreement ensured that all students are paid the same, regardless of how well they perform their job. I had no incentive to work harder or better anymore.

This discovery helped me let go of my previous moderate liberal beliefs in favor of a more conservative/libertarian attitude.

2) Here’s some advice for all you reporters and academics out there:

Drop the objectivity act. Please?

The only thing objectivity – the demand that people PRETEND to be neutral – does is drive the bias underground and make it that much more insidious. Instead of making people be honest about what is opinion and what is fact, it forces everyone to argue that it’s all fact. Worse, since material is presented as completely objective, the reader is lectured to rather than being allowed to decide for himself or herself whether your argument holds water.

So put all your cards on the table – be honest and open about your biases. Do your best to present the other side(s) in a fair manner, but don’t pretend you don’t have an opinion.

So down with pseudo-“objective” reporting and scholarship. Here’s to biased, but honest discussion of the facts and their causes.

About AIWAC

Hi, my name is Avi Woolf. I'm an American-Israeli MO Jew living in Israel. I have a background in Israeli (as in Land of Israel) and Jewish History and an insatiable need for knowledge. I also have professional experience as an editor, translator and indexer. Enjoy the ride! If you are interested in using my services or just want to drop me a line, contact me at: opdycke1861NOSPAM@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

