Plug for A New Book on Israeli Secularism

Prof. Gideon Katz’ scholarly articles on the dilemmas and tribulations of Israeli secular thinkers have served me in good stead. They provided me with a balanced, thoughtful and very informative corpus of information on the subject, which I used for my “non-observant” Israeli series of posts.

Most importantly, Katz, unlike most Israeli thinkers on the subject, is not polemical. He is not out to “prove” his point or denigrate other positions. Rather, he says to the reader: this is how secular thinkers think, these are their dilemmas, their triumphs and failures. You are invited to draw your own conclusions.

Now Katz has come out with a book in Hebrew covering the subject. If it is anything like his articles, then I cannot recommend it enough. If ever there was a person whose work I would promote, whose positions allow for empathy for a different view without having to ignore snide swipes and broadsides at one’s own worldview, it would be Prof. Gideon Katz.

About AIWAC

Hi, my name is Avi Woolf. I'm an American-Israeli MO Jew living in Israel. I have a background in Israeli (as in Land of Israel) and Jewish History and an insatiable need for knowledge. I also have professional experience as an editor, translator and indexer. Enjoy the ride! If you are interested in using my services or just want to drop me a line, contact me at: opdycke1861NOSPAM@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Plug for A New Book on Israeli Secularism

  1. Pingback: Is Secular Judaism Responsible for the Fracturing of Israeli Jewish Society? (Answer: Not Exactly) | QED

Leave a Reply

